Thursday, 15 August 2013

The Tom-Gallon Trust Award for short story

Samuel Wright, winner of the Tom-Gallon Award 2013

The Tom-Gallon Trust Award

An annual award of £1,000, financed by a bequest made by Miss Nellie Tom-Gallon in memory of her brother.

The award must be made to a writer of fiction who has had at least one short story accepted for publication, and who has serious writing ambitions. The submitted story should be traditional, rather than experimental, in character, and the financial circumstances of the writer should be taken into account. The Tom-Gallon Trust Award was previously awarded biennially alongside the Olive Cook Award. The Olive Cook Award was last awarded in 2010.

The 2013 Award

Samuel Wright received £1,000 for his story Best Friend.
Lucy Wood was the runner-up for her story Wisht.
Judges: Elanor Dymott and Aamer Hussain.

The Tom-Gallon Trust Award is currently generously supported by The Authors' Licensing and Collecting Society

No comments:

Post a Comment