Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Short story and fiction competitions

The Carmel Bird Short Fiction Award
is for stories up to 4,000 words. Winning and shortlisted stories will be published in the Spineless Wonders annual anthology along with stories by invited authors. This award is open to Australian residents only. The closing date is 31 July.

Seán Ó Faoláin International Short Story Competition
is an annual short story competition open to writers from around the world. First prize is €2,000, publication in the literary journal Southword, and a week-long residency at Anam Cara Writer’s and Artist’s Retreat. Submissions close 31 July.

The California Book Awards
honour the literary merit of Californian writers and publishers. Eligible books must be written while the author is a resident of California. Awards are presented in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, First Work of Fiction, Poetry, Californiana, Notable Contribution to Publishing, Juvenile Literature and Young Adult Literature. Submissions open in July.

No comments:

Post a Comment